Where were you 10 years ago? #tbt

I’ve been reflecting lately on the events from March 2004, a memorable and life-changing time for me.  I was living in Orlando, working at Epcot, making $6 an hour and having the time of my life.  I had a quick break in nursing school between my RN  years and starting my last year to get my baccalaureate.  Naturally, I took an internship with Disney World…makes no sense, right, but I loved it. I finally had one semester to enjoy college, instead of being at clinicals 26 hours a week, studying pharmacology and writing nursing care plans. Nursing school was a whirlwind for sure. I don’t remember a lot, including my professor’s names (weird?) but I have a lot of flash memories, consoling a patient’s mother after a scary diagnosis, learning to monitor a newly implanted pacemaker with external wires, helping 3 women give birth on my own 20th birthday, drinking a lot of Instant Breakfast and Go-Gurt in the car, showing up in the classroom in Ogden not really knowing how I got there. I was so tired and it was really hard. It was 10 years ago that I took my nursing exam while I was in Florida.  A friend drove me to the testing center and I passed on my first try. I’ve been a nurse for 10 years!

disney

Do you like my Mission: Space uniform?

Flash forward 10 years to the present.  I was lucky enough to be at Disney again, sharing the magic with all the Grewes, sharing all my insider knowledge and navigating the park like a pro!

Then I spent last night nursing Emmett, my most important patient back to health during his current cough and fever.

IMG_1148

IMG_1172

If you want more, here’s more…

I was meant to be a nurse. It has been the perfect job for me. I spent 2 years working at a nursing home. Those are cherished memories and it was a special place. In fact last Halloween we took the kids trick-or-treating there and I saw two residents I cared for. I was able to tell them Hi and got emotional in the process. I learned a lot about compassion and hard work during that time.I did a 6 month stint in Post-partum care, this was a lot of fun.  I now laugh at my 21-year-old, confident self teaching first-time moms how to breastfeed and care for their infant. Did they even listen to me? If they did, I don’t know why. I’m sure I knew nothing. I made a lot of mistakes and learned a lot about myself as a new nurse. I spent another 2 years at The  Cache Valley Specialty Hospital. This is where my first full-time, insured job was. Three nights a week, 6 pm to 7 am. Some nights we had only one patient, some night was had a full house.  Being in my hometown, I had the opportunity to care for loved ones, neighbors and friends. Then I made the wonderful move to Huntsman Cancer Hospital. I’ve been at that great place for the last 7 years. I spent 4 years on the surgical floor. Wow! This was an eye opener. I can’t even explain all the crazy surgeries and patients I’ve had in that time. It is still the craziest, busiest job I’ve ever had and can’t believe some of the miracles and tragedies I’ve seen. If you want to work hard for your money, work there. It is unbelievable. Since I had kids, nursing has still treated me well. I have bounced around the hospital for a time, trying to find a schedule that worked for my family, and finally feel at home. For the last 18 months I’ve been working in the Acute Care Clinic-an instacare of sorts serving the Huntsman population. I love my job and the people I work with and care for.

DSCN1574

This is the only pic I can find from work (at least from the digital age.) I think this was Thanksgiving Day 2008. Best crew ever! Ryan, Me, Kim, Bryn, Mary, and Emily-and Mollie’s finger.

Also, 10 years ago I fell in love with my Pitt-the most important and best thing that ever happened to me.

DSCF0096

Marco Island 2004

One response to “Where were you 10 years ago? #tbt

  • Abby

    Becky, I love this! I love that I got to be a part of your journey. I miss you, and hopefully one day we can have a reunion (and meet each others sweet babies). We are 10 years wiser now :).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers

